Medicine From The Trenches

Experiences from undergradute, graduate school, medical school, residency and beyond.

The Boobs Have It

When I read this wonderful post from a fellow physician blogger, I knew I had to reblog this. I felt exactly the same as my very gifted colleague during my surgical intern year on my Breast Surgery rotation. Yes, it’s been a long time since I have referred to breasts as “boobs” out of respect for the miracle that is the human body and all its parts. Enjoy this wisdom.

Behind the White Coat

Display in museum in New York City
Do you know how many breasts I have touched?

Thousands of them.

It is staggering when I reflect upon it.

So many breasts. So very many. All shapes and colors and sizes. Hairy. Not hairy. Moles and rashes and skin tags galore. Droopy. Perky. Somewhere in between.

During breast exams I have for years and years referred to the exam as the “boob check.” Whenever I made reference to my breasts of anyone else’s I nearly always called them boobs or boobies.

To be honest, I thought it was cute.

Touching another woman’s breasts makes me uncomfortable, maybe even a bit embarrassed. I feel the same when someone else is looking at or touching mine in a nonsexual, clinical sort of way. So I made fun of breasts and joked about the situation. It took some of the sting out of the situation to act goofy.

One of the many…

View original post 301 more words

21 June, 2017 - Posted by | medical school

1 Comment »

  1. Thank you so much for the reblog and the kind words! 🙂

    Comment by Victo Dolore | 21 June, 2017 | Reply


Leave a Reply or ask a Question.

