Medicine From The Trenches

Experiences from medical school, residency and beyond.

A touch of tenderness (Reblog)

Here’s is a great post to remind us that touch may be the best medicine out there for our patients. Don’t be afraid to touch your patients and connect with them. This is the true “magic” of medicine. Touch is needed more today than ever.

Sue Vincent's Daily Echo

The Cathedral by Rodin.

My son gleefully squeezed harder at the knotted muscle in my shoulder, with a ‘Now I’ve got you’ as I groaned in agony. We have established and agreed that he has a slightly sadistic tendency where I am concerned. It may have something to do with my knack of getting just the right spot on the painful muscles as we got his body working again. Day after painful day, for months on end. So now it is payback… and he appears to enjoy it. He still manages to lay the blame squarely on my aching shoulders, muttering something that sounds vaguely like ‘hereditary’.

He is a little more squeamish than I. His face screws up in horror as my wrist bones crunch back into place when he applies traction. It is, however, nice to regain freedom of movement occasionally. So I make him do it…

View original post 1,189 more words

25 March, 2017 - Posted by | medical school

3 Comments »

  1. Thank you very much for sharing the post. It may sound daft, but the fact that the two people to have shared it this morning are both within the medical profession has moved me to tears. It is a small but perfect reminder that it is the system that is cold, not the people who work within it.

    Comment by Sue Vincent | 25 March, 2017 | Reply

    • It is my honor as a physician to touch my patients; to touch humans. This is why I entered medicine/surgery.

      Comment by drnjbmd | 25 March, 2017 | Reply

      • I can’t think of a better reason.

        Comment by Sue Vincent | 25 March, 2017


Leave a Reply or ask a Question.

