Medicine From The Trenches

Experiences from undergradute, graduate school, medical school, residency and beyond.

The Fastest Way to a Surgeon’s Heart

As I sat in my office yesterday lamenting my lack of love on this upcoming Valentine’s Day, I stared at my Mardi Gras beads left over from Tuesday’s dinner. Tuesday had been a long day that was filled with endless paperwork coupled with cold temperatures and snow. I am training for a spring marathon thus I needed to get some road mileage but couldn’t run outside in the new falling snow (ice underneath) and sub-30F temperatures. As I finished the last signature, closed the last chart and checked to make sure my dictations had been sent, I decided to go to a Mardi Gras party with a few friends. It’s the last fling before the Lenten season begins and for me, an opportunity to enjoy the company of some folks who have little to do with medicine. I jumped at the chance.

As I entered the Mardi Gras location, the sound of New Orleans jazz coupled with the fragrance of jambalaya filled my senses. I was enveloped in beads (no I didn’t have to display a bare chest to get them) and hugs. “It’s going to be a good Lent”, one of my friends remarked. “I can’t believe that Ash Wednesday will be here tomorrow. It’s so soon”, I remarked. Both of us scooped up the jambalaya (mine vegetarian) and settled in to enjoy our treats with a glass of wine. What a nice way to shake off the cold and snow outside.

Yes, Tuesday was a great experience; so needed but Ash Wednesday began and then came Thursday and my mini-despair at not having a special someone in my life to acknowledge on Valentine’s Day. This whole St. Valentine’s Day is “hokey”, I reminded myself as a couple of my married partners ordered roses for their wives. Yes, I was a bit envious of those lucky women who would receive them on “the day”. Even my unmarried partner was planning a nice dinner with his new love interest. Oh, this was too much for my cynical heart to bear. I decided to hit the gym and pump some iron to shake off these feelings.

As I was leaving the surgeon’s lounge, the nurse manager of the operating room touched my shoulder. “Hey doc, here’s a package for you”, she said. “Gee”, I thought, “someone is actually sending me something?” She handed me a small parcel that was sealed with iron-clad tape, addressed to the hospital operating room that was clearly from a surgical supply company. How did she know it was for me?

I tore open the box with my car keys. Inside, there were several small shiny instruments. Ah, new Castroviejo’s (instruments for delicate work). Be still my beating heart. Someone remembered me and my Valentine Day came early.  Yes, I am feeling the love!DSCN0534

 

13 February, 2016 - Posted by | medical school, practice of medicine | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Happy VD day. 😉

    Comment by Victo Dolore | 13 February, 2016 | Reply


Leave a Reply or ask a Question.

