Medicine From The Trenches

Experiences from undergradute, graduate school, medical school, residency and beyond.

Patients that you might not “like” for whatever reason.

I am away from most of my writing tools. I thought I would reblog this because it’s timely. Enjoy.

Medicine From The Trenches

I received a call about a consult for placement of a temporary dialysis catheter in the Medical Intensive Care Unit. When I arrived I quickly scanned the chart (coagulation profile, patient’s medical information etc.) and entered the room of the patient who needed the temporary dialysis catheter. Just before I entered the room, one of the resident physicians pulled me aside and said, “This guy weighs 500 pounds and let himself get to this point. On top of that, he smells. I just want to warn you to have your gas mask ready”. He laughed and I “thanked” him for the information and entered the room.

Lying in the bed was a 500+ pound gentleman who was restrained and mechanically ventilated. In one hand was an intravenous line which was leaking intravenous fluid. He had a very large abdominal pannus (apron of adipose tissue), multiple scars on both arms and…

View original post 1,266 more words

11 July, 2015 - Posted by | medical school

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply or ask a Question.

